WISC-TV wins 4 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

WISC-TV wins 4 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

WISC-TV / Channel3000.com has won four regional Edward R. Murrow awards honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism.

The awards, issued by the Radio Television Digital News Association, recognize the “spirit of excellence” that former anchor Edward R. Murrow set “as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism.”

So thrilled that @WISCTV_News3 was honored with *FOUR* regional Edward R. Murrow Awards by @RTDNA today! REALLY proud of the #News3 team! https://t.co/QOnpVXTh0v

— Jessica Arp (@news3jessica) April 25, 2018

WISC-TV was recognized for coverage of important stories in southern Wisconsin, including the search for fugitive Joseph Jakubowski and a compelling story of a man determined to make sure a war veteran was not forgotten . Honors also included a piece that took our viewers to coastal Texas to see how residents were coping in the aftermath of Hurricane Harvey.

The four awards recognize work from 2017 in the following categories:

Continuing Coverage: The Search for Jakubowski

Excellence in Sound: Patience at the Pump, Leah Linscheid

Feature Reporting: River of Healing, Dave Delozier

Newscast: A Good Friday: Jakubowski Manhunt Ends

WISC-TV / Channel3000.com competed in the small market television division against stations from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

The four entries will now be advancing to the National Murrow Award competition, competing against small television markets across the country.

News 3 has been repeatedly honored by the RTDNA, winning the most small market regional Murrow awards in the country in 2016 . Three of those 2016 entries won national Murrow awards. In 2017, WISC was honored to win three regional Murrow awards for excellence in social media, writing and innovation. The station then won the first-ever national Murrow award for Excellence in Innovation for digital coverage of the 2016 election.

The awards have been handed out by the RTDNA since 1971.