WISC-TV, Channel3000.com win 6 Edward R. Murrow Awards

Madison station 1 of 3 in its market category to win 6 awards
WISC-TV, Channel3000.com win 6 Edward R. Murrow Awards

WISC-TV and Channel3000.com were the recipients of six regional Edward R. Murrow Awards to recognize “outstanding achievements” in journalism, the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced on Tuesday.

The six awards recognized work from the previous year in the following categories: breaking news, sports reporting, feature, continuing coverage, use of video and website. WISC-TV was one of three small market stations in the U.S. to win six awards.

WISC-TV and Channel3000.com competed in the small market, television division and against broadcast operations in four states — Wisconsin, Minnesota, North and South Dakota. Regional winners automatically become eligible for the national awards competition, which will be judged in May.

Named after the legendary CBS broadcaster, RTDNA has been handing out the Murrow Awards since 1971 in order to recognize “journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry” Murrow’s name.

The list of award-winning entries and the recipients are below:

Breaking News: “The Search for Paris Poe”
Award Winner: Jessica Arp, Theo Keith, Jennifer Hoff, Mary Jo Ola, Dannika Lewis and the News 3 Team

Sports Reporting: “Pursuing Her Passions”
Award Winner: Adam Schrager and Jeremy Nichols

Feature: “Photographing That Tree”
Award Winner: Mark Koehn and Mike Van Susteren

Continuing Coverage: “Brayden Turnbill’s Death”
Award Winner: Jessica Arp, Jennifer Hoff, Dannika Lewis and the News 3 Team

Use of Video: Video compilation
Award Winner: Jeremy Nichols

Website: Channel3000.com
Award Winners: Kyle Geissler, Hannah McClung, Tabatha Wethal, Rick Blum and the News 3 Team