WISC-TV, Channel3000.com win 6 Edward R. Murrow awards

Awards recognize 'outstanding achievements' in journalism
WISC-TV, Channel3000.com win 6 Edward R. Murrow awards

WISC-TV and Channel3000.com were the recipients of six regional Edward R. Murrow awards to recognize “outstanding achievements” in journalism, the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced on Thursday.

The six awards recognized work from the previous year in the following categories: investigative reporting; sports reporting; news documentary; writing; hard news reporting; and website.

WISC-TV and Channel3000.com competed in the small market, television division and against broadcast operations in four states — Wisconsin, Minnesota, North and South Dakota. Regional winners automatically become eligible for the national awards competition, which will be judged in June.

RTDNA officials said judges handed out 645 regional Murrow Awards in 14 categories this year. They said that they received more than 3,500 entries during the 2012 awards season.

Named after the legendary CBS broadcaster, RTDNA has been handing out the Murrow awards since 1971 in order to recognize “journalism embodies the spirit of the awards that carry” Murrow’s name.

“Murrow Award recipients demonstrate the excellence that Edward R. Murrow made a standard for the electronic news profession,” according to the RTDNA website.

The list of award-winning entries and the recipients are below:

Investigative Reporting: “Furnance Inspectors”
Award Winners: David Douglas, Brian Mesmer

Sports Reporting: “One Of Their Own”
Award Winners: Jeremy Nichols, Matt Queen

News Documentary: “Time For Kids: Recipe For Health” Primetime Special
Award Winners: News 3 Team, Jessica Laszewski & Al Barcheski

Writing: Andy Choi Compilation: “A Father’s Grief,” “Ruining Romance,” “WWII Survivor Story”
Award Winner: Andy Choi

Reporting, Hard News: “Credit Union Shooting”
Award Winners; Marc Lovicott, Lance Heidt

Website: Channel3000.com
Award Winners: David Hyland, Adam Malecek, Scott Beedy, Jeff Robbins, WISC-TV team