Which southern Wisconsin counties still have mask mandates in place?

Southern Wisconsin countywide mask mandates as of May 14 2021
With Rock County dropping its county-wide mask order Friday, Dane County is one of the last remaining orders left in southern Wisconsin.

With Rock County lifting its county-wide mask mandate effective immediately, very few county-wide orders are still in effect in southern Wisconsin after the CDC’s most recent recommendation that fully vaccinated people can safely drop the masks in most situations.

In fact, Dane County’s may be one of the few left in the state by next week. Officials with Public Health Madison and Dane County say they’re reviewing the CDC guidance and will have an update to their order on Tuesday, May 18th.

But with Rock County dropping its requirement, Dane County’s is the only county-wide mandate still standing in the News 3 Now viewing area, as confirmed by News 3 Now staff Friday. Several counties have been without a mask order since Gov. Tony Evers’ statewide mandate was struck down at the end of March.

Here is where counties in southern Wisconsin stand as of Friday:

Dane: Yes Rock: No Green: No Lafayette: No Grant: No Iowa: No Richland: No Sauk: No Columbia: No Juneau: No Marquette: No

Outside of Dane County, officials in the City of Milwaukee and Milwaukee County say they are also analyzing the CDC’s guidance, but have not yet made a decision on whether to remove their mask mandate.