What you need to know before you go to the polls Tuesday

MADISON, Wis. — Tuesday marks the last step before what could be a pivotal election in November, with voters going to the polls for the partisan primary. If you’re planning on voting, here’s what you need to know.


There’s a chance your polling place has changed since the last time you voted, whether it was in April’s spring election or elections a year or two ago. Before you leave home, be sure to check the MyVote website to find the correct polling location for where you live to avoid any headaches that might come with going to the wrong location.

Click here to find your polling place

The MyVote site will also tell you which voting ward or precinct you belong to, and the address for the polling location. We also have a full list of polling locations in the City of Madison here and a map of locations below.


Polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 8 p.m. on Tuesday. If you are in line by 8 p.m., you will still be allowed to vote.


If you are not currently registered to vote or need to re-register, you can still register at the polls on Election Day. In order to register, you will need to bring proof of residence (something that shows you’ve lived at your current location for more than 28 days). Proof can either be digital or a physical piece of paper.

Click here for a list of accepted proof of residence documents

Things that do NOT count as acceptable forms of proof of residence: insurance statements, medical bills, business cards, magazine subscriptions, an expired drivers license or ID card, an out-of-state drivers license, or a piece of mail addressed to the voter.


Even if you are already registered, you will need to bring a photo ID with you to the polls in order to verify your identity. The address on your drivers license or state ID card does NOT have to match your current address, since the ID is only needed to verify your identity and not your residency.

Click here for a list of acceptable forms of photo ID and ways to get one


In Wisconsin, in order to vote in a primary election, you need to select which party you are voting for, and you can only vote for candidates belonging to that party.

At the top of your ballot, you will mark that you are voting in the Republican primary, the Democratic primary, or a third-party primary. Your voter registration is not associated with a political party.

If you don’t declare a party at the top of your ballot and you vote for a mix of candidates from more than one party in this election, your vote will not be counted. You can only mix parties in a general election, not a primary election. The primary election determines who will advance to represent their party in the general election.


You can get a preview of what’s going to be on your ballot by using the MyVote tool to find the races being contested in the area where you live.

You can also find a full list of races here:

(Click the category heading to expand/close list)

Wisconsin Governor – Republican
Tim Michels
Adam Fischer
Kevin Nicholson
Rebecca Kleefisch

Wisconsin Lt. Governor – Democrat
Peng Her
Sara Rodriguez

Wisconsin Lt. Governor – Republican
Jonathan Wichmann
Will Martin
Roger Roth
David Varnam
Kyle Yudes
David King
Cindy Werner
Patrick Testin

Wisconsin Attorney General – Republican
Adam Jarchow
Eric Toney
Karen Mueller

Wisconsin Secretary of State – Democrat
Doug La Follette
Alexia Sabor

Wisconsin Secretary of State – Republican
Justin Schmidtka
Jay Schroeder
Amy Loudenbeck

Wisconsin State Treasurer – Democrat
Aaron Richardson
Gillian Battino
Angelito Tenorio

Wisconsin State Treasurer – Republican
John Leiber
Orlando Owens

U.S. Senator – Democrat
Peter Peckarsky
Darrell Williams
Kou Lee
Steven Olikara
Mandela Barnes
Tom Nelson
Sarah Godlewski
Alex Lasry

U.S. Senator – Republican
Ron Johnson
David Schroeder

U.S. Congress District 2 – Republican
Charity Barry
Erik Olsen

U.S. Congress District 3 – Democrat
Rebecca Cooke
Mark Neumann
Brad Pfaff
Deb McGrath

U.S. Congress District 4 – Republican
Tim Rogers
Travis Clark

U.S. Congress District 6 – Republican
Glenn Grothman
Douglas Mullenix

U.S. Congress District 7 – Republican
David Kunelius
Tom Tiffany

U.S. Congress District 8 – Republican
Mike Gallagher
Shaun Clarmont

Wisconsin State Assembly District 31 – Republican
Maryann Zimmerman
Jason Dean
Ellen Schutt

Wisconsin State Assembly District 33 – Republican
Scott Johnson
Dale Oppermann

Wisconsin State Assembly District 43 – Democrat
Jenna Jacobson
Matt McIntyre

Wisconsin State Assembly District 45 – Democrat
Clinton Anderson
Ben Dorscheid

Wisconsin State Assembly District 46 – Democrat
Andrew Hysell
Syed Abbas
Analiese Eicher
Melissa Ratcliff
Mike Jacobs

Wisconsin State Assembly District 63 – Republican
Adam Steen
Robin Vos

Wisconsin State Assembly District 79 – Democrat
Alex Joers
Brad Votava

Wisconsin State Assembly District 80 – Democrat
Chad Kemp
Doug Steinberg
Dale Yurs
Mike Bare
Anna Halverson

Wisconsin State Assembly District 80 – Republican
Nathan Graewin
Jacob Luginbuhl

Wisconsin State Assembly District 81 – Republican
Bob Wood
Shellie Benish

Rock Co. Sheriff – Democrat
Troy Egger
Curtis Fell

Green Co. Coroner – Democrat
Monica Hack
Amy Jo Walter

Dodge Co. Sheriff – Republican
Dale Schmidt
Mark Colker


Preliminary results will not be reported until after polls close at 8 p.m. We will begin getting reports from local clerks shortly after. Due to state law, absentee ballots filed before Election Day cannot be counted until polls open on Election Day.

Clerks will typically update results as they tabulate votes from across precincts in their municipality. How long it takes to count all of the votes depends on the size of the municipality, how many ballots were cast, and how many election workers are helping tabulate results.

You can find live vote count updates here once polls close at 8 p.m.

Results will be canvassed and verified in the days after the election.