Undefeated no more: Baylor knocks off Gonzaga to win national championship

baylor gonzaga

INDIANAPOLIS — The Baylor Bears are national champions for the first time in school history, defeating the previously undefeated Gonzaga Bulldogs to win the NCAA men’s basketball tournament.

Baylor used intimidating defense and hot shooting to cruise to the 86-70 win.

Jared Butler led the Bears with 22 points and 7 assists, while Macio Teague added 19 points. Davion Mitchell added 15 points, 6 rebounds and 5 assists. Baylor shot 10-of-23 from three-point range as a team, jumping out to an early lead over the Bulldogs and never looking back.

Baylor dominated their way through the tournament, including knocking the Wisconsin Badgers out of the tournament in the second round.