Two-thirds of Wisconsin counties under high fire danger, DNR says

Fire Danger Map June 15

MADISON, Wis. — State officials are asking residents to stay vigilant and avoid burnings due to high fire dangers through a western and southern Wisconsin.

Of Wisconsin’s 72 counties, 48 of them are currently under high fire danger warnings. An additional 21 counties, all located in eastern and northeastern Wisconsin, are under moderate fire danger warnings.

The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources said Tuesday that, because of an ongoing drought, drying vegetation is especially vulnerable to catching fire.

DNR officials said residents can follow a handful of tips to reduce their risk of starting a fire, including delaying fires to the evening hours and keeping them small. Operating equipment like chainsaws, lawn-mowers and off-road vehicles early in the morning or late in the day can also help avoid sparks during peak burn hours.

This year the DNR has responded to 765 wildfires that have burned more than 1,900 acres of land. Many more have been put out by local fire departments.

Daily fire danger and burning restrictions are available online.

The following counties are under high fire danger warnings:

  • Adams
  • Barron
  • Bayfield
  • Buffalo
  • Burnett
  • Chippewa
  • Clark
  • Columbia
  • Crawford
  • Dane
  • Dodge
  • Douglas
  • Dunn
  • Eau Claire
  • Grant
  • Green
  • Green Lake
  • Iowa
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Juneau
  • Kenosha
  • La Crosse
  • Lafayette
  • Langlade
  • Marquette
  • Milwaukee
  • Monroe
  • Ozaukee
  • Pepin
  • Pierce
  • Polk
  • Racine
  • Richland
  • Rock
  • Rusk
  • Saint Croix
  • Sauk
  • Sawyer
  • Trempealeau
  • Vernon
  • Walworth
  • Washburn
  • Washington
  • Waukesha
  • Waushara
  • Winnebago
  • Wood