RWD, Janesville eliminated at state hockey

RWD, Janesville eliminated at state hockey

Cedarburg defeated Reedsburg-Wisconsin Dells 3-2 and Superior stopped Janesville 4-2 in the opening games of the WIAA State Boys Hockey Tournament at Alliant Energy Center Thursday.

Dylan Brown scored both goals for RWD as they held a 2-1 lead early in the second period.

But Cedarburg’s Evan Gable and James Furey scored goals to give the Bulldogs a spot in the semifinals Friday.

Janesville fell behind Superior 2-0 after the first period, but the Bluebirds got second period goals by Connor Perkins and Harry Henschler to tie the game.

The Spartans took a 3-2 lead on Grant Hanson’s tally in the third period and Beau Reder’s empty net goal provided the final margin for Superior.