Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota wins Heisman Trophy

Wisconsin's Melvin Gordon finishes second
Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota wins Heisman Trophy

Oregon’s Marcus Mariota (mar-ee-OH’-tah) has come away with the Heisman Trophy as college football’s top player, beating out Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon and Alabama receiver Amari Cooper

The Ducks’ quarterback set a Pac-12 mark this season with 53 total touchdowns, including a school-record 38 via pass, 14 keepers and one TD reception. He leads the nation with 10 games of four or more touchdowns this season. His 38 touchdown passes are also an Oregon record.   He’s helped Oregon to a 12-1 record and a shot at defending national champ Florida State in the Rose Bowl as part of the College Football Playoff.

Mariota had already captured the Walter Camp National Player of the Year Award, the Maxwell Award as college player of the year, the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award and the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

Gordon claimed the Doak Walter Award as the nation’s top running back after setting a Big Ten single-season record with 2,336 rushing yards and scoring 29 touchdowns.

Cooper had 1,656 receiving yards and 14 touchdowns while setting a Southeastern Conference record with 115 receptions.  That helped him claim the Fred Biletnikoff Award as the nation’s outstanding receiver.