Kimberly, Menasha and Wis. Lutheran win titles

WIAA State Football wraps up at Camp Randall
Kimberly, Menasha and Wis. Lutheran win titles

Junior tailback Blair Mulholland rushed for 152 yards and two touchdowns as Kimberly capped its perfect season with a 31-6 victory over Arrowhead in the WIAA Division 1 championship Friday at Camp Randall Stadium.

It’s the fourth championship in seven seasons for the Papermakers (14-0), who were the smallest team in the Division 1 field. Kimberly won the Division 2 title last year.

The Papermakers also got 129 passing yards from senior Austin Weyenberg and 115 rushing yards from senior Evan Dux. Kimberly’s defense forced two turnover on downs and an interception inside its own 25-yard line.

The Warhawks (10-4) were denied their third straight Division 1 title, and seventh overall, as they struggled to figure out the Papermakers’ defense. Kimberly’s offense gained 440 yards compared to Arrowhead’s 249 yards.


Senior Tyler Johnson rushed for 129 yards and posted four touchdowns as Menasha capped a perfect season by clinching the WIAA Division 2 championship with a with a 35-17 victory over Waukesha West Friday.

Making their first appearance in a state championship final, the Bluejays (14-0) trailed 14-7 at Camp Randall Stadium before taking control in the second quarter.

Johnson rushed for a 39-yard touchdown and threw a 36-yard touchdown Kevin Medrano with 37 seconds left in the first half.

Junior quarterback Conor Blount threw for 257 yards for Waukesha West (11-3), which lost for the first time in three appearances in the state finals.

Menasha sealed the victory when junior linebacker Dominic Seifert returned a fourth-quarter interception 36 yards for a touchdown.


Wisconsin Lutheran rushed for five touchdowns to cap off its perfect season with 42-18 victory in the WIAA Division 3 championship over Rice Lake Friday at Camp Randall Stadium in Madison.

The Vikings (14-0) trailed 10-7 late in the second quarter until junior Terrance Ward’s four-yard rushing touchdown with 50 seconds remaining. That was the first of 27 straight points for Wisconsin Lutheran to give the Vikings their fourth title in sixth appearances (2004, 2005, 2007).

Ward finished with 68 yards and two scores. Junior tailback Austin Denoyer had 61 yards and two touchdowns and Logan McShane also added a rushing score for the Vikings, who rushed for 313 yards and averaged 6.5 yards per carry.

Rice Lake (10-4) fell to 1-4 in state title games. The Warriors won their lone title in 1979.