Five Packers named to Pro Bowl

Rodgers leads selections
Five Packers named to Pro Bowl

Five Green Bay Packers were selected to represent the NFC in the Pro Bowl Tuesday.

Fullback John Kuhn, linebacker Clay Matthews, wide receiver Jordy Nelson, quarterback Aaron Rodgers and guard Josh Sitton were named to the Pro Bowl by the National Football League.

 Kuhn was selected to his second career Pro Bowl (2011). His two selections are the third most by a Packers’ fullback, behind Clarke Hinkle (1938-40) and Jim Taylor (1960-64).

Matthews earns the fifth selection in his six-year career. He passes Bill Forester (1959-62) for the most selections for a Packers’ linebacker.

Matthews leads the team with 10 sacks this season.

It is the first selection for Nelson, who ranks in the top five in the NFL in receiving yards and touchdown receptions (13) this season. His 1,433 receiving yards are the third most by a Packer in a single season. 

For Rodgers, it marks the fourth Pro Bowl selection of his career (2009, 2011, 2012). He joins Bart Starr (1960-62, 1966) and Cecil Isbell (1938-39, 1941-42) for the second-most selections by a Green Bay quarterback, trailing Brett Favre’s nine (1992-93, 1995-97, 2001-03, 2007). 

Sitton earns his second career Pro Bowl honor (2012), but his first as an original selection.

Alternates include T David Bakhtiari, WR Randall Cobb, RB Eddie Lacy, G T.J. Lang, LB Julius Peppers, CB Sam Shields and CB Tramon Williams.