DNR issues red flag fire warning for Dane County


MADISON, Wis. — On Saturday the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources issued an extreme wildfire danger red flag warning for Dane and surrounding counties.

The DNR said, “The area is experiencing critical weather conditions that are ideal for wildfire, including strong winds, warm temperatures and very low humidity.”

a map of Wisconsin shows that central counties are experiencing very extreme fire danger

The counties under the red flag warning are: Adams, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Lafayette, La Crosse, Marquette, Monroe, Portage, Richland, Rock, Sauk, St. Croix, Vernon, Walworth, Waupaca and Wood.

Other Counties in the state are also under high and very high fire warnings.

All burning should be avoided. Call 911 immediately to help stop the spread early.