Coaches Select Taylor To All-Big Ten Team

University of Wisconsin point guard Jordan Taylor has been chosen by Big Ten coaches to the All-Big Ten for the second year in a row.

This makes Taylor just the sixth player ever from Wisconsin to be chosen for this honor twice.

However, the media put Taylor on the second team, replacing him in the top five with Tim Frazier of Penn State.

Jared Berggren and Ryan Evans received honorable mentions, and Josh Gasser makes the all-defensive team. Senior Rob Wilson was named Wisconsin’s Sportsmanship Award recipient.

“I like my guys, I like what they did this year,” said coach Bo Ryan. “I tell you– that’s how hard they worked on defense and what they’ve accomplished. This group is pretty good, given what they’ve had in the turnaround. And anybody that doesn’t know that, doesn’t know basketball, trust me.”

The Badgers are 12th in the coaches poll and 14th in the AP poll. They’ll play the winner of Indiana and Penn state in the Big Ten tournament Friday.

Michigan State’s Draymond Green has been chosen as player of the year in the Big Ten. Green averaged 16.2 points and a league-best 10.5 rebounds as the Spartans shared the regular-season title with Michigan and Ohio State.

Michigan State’s Tom Izzo was named coach of the year for a third time as the Spartans finished 24-7 and 13-5 in the league after starting the season unranked.

Joining Green on both the coaches and media first team are conference scoring leader John Shurna of Northwestern, Ohio State star Jared Sullinger and Purdue’s Robbie Hummel.