Burn bans issued in more than a dozen communities

Dry weather leads to limitations in fire use

Dry weather is forcing firefighters in several communities to issue burn bans.

This means fireworks and open fires are prohibited.

Residents in Beloit, Baraboo, the Town of Burke, Bristol, Sun Prairie, Maple Bluff, Middleton, Prairie Du Sac, Sauk City, Oregon, Waunakee, Town of Linn, Town of Pleasant Springs, Portage, Deerfield and Shullsburg are all being asked to be very careful when using gas grills and barbecue pits.

Smoking outdoors is even being banned in some areas.