Big Ten heads into unusual season with PSU, OSU

Only four teams can win Leaders division
Big Ten heads into unusual season with PSU, OSU

With Ohio State and Penn State both barred from the postseason, there are only four teams in the Big Ten Leaders Division competing for a spot in the league championship game.

Wisconsin and running back Montee Ball are the heavy favorites as Michigan State moves on without quarterback Kirk Cousins.

Minnesota, Illinois, Iowa, Northwestern, Indiana and Purdue all hope to find their footing following disappointing finishes a year ago. Nebraska and running back Rex Burkhead look to build on their first season in the Big Ten.

 Urban Meyer will focus on making the Buckeyes a force again after a 6-7. And Penn State coach Bill O’Brien is simply trying to keep Penn State afloat after rippling NCAA sanctions from the Jerry Sandusky child sex-abuse scandal.