Ball not among Heisman finalists

Texas A & M QB leading candidate for trophy
Ball not among Heisman finalists

Montee Ball won’t be going to the big apple for the Heisman ceremony this year.          

The Heisman Trophy finalists have been announced, and the trio consists of two quarterbacks and a linebacker from the nation’s top-ranked team.

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o and Kansas quarterback Collin Klein will be on hand when the trophy is presented in New York on Saturday.

Manziel is the favorite to win college football’s most prestigious award when it is presented Saturday night in New York. He would be the first freshman to win the Heisman and the first Texas A&M player since halfback John David Crow won the school’s only Heisman in 1957.

Te’o is trying to become the first defense-only player to win a Heisman and the eighth player from Notre Dame.

Klein would be the first player from Kansas State to win the Heisman. On Monday, he won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, given to the nation’s top upperclassman quarterback.

Te’o has come away with two trophies on Monday, taking the Butkus Award as the nation’s top linebacker, and the Bronko Nagurski Award as the country’s top defensive player.