Badgers women’s hockey wins sixth national championship

Mersch leads Badgers to a 5-2 win

ERIE, Penn. — The Badgers are technically back-to-back champs.

After the 2020 national championship was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic, the Wisconsin women’s hockey team claimed its sixth title Saturday night at the women’s Frozen Four in Erie, Pennsylvania. Wisconsin also won the 2019 championship.

It took a nailbiter for the No. 2 Badgers against No. 1 Northeastern on Saturday. The game went to overtime timed at 1 after Makenna Webster got the Badgers on the goal late in third period, only for the Huskies to tip it up less than a minute later.

The loss was only Northeastern’s second this season, while the Badgers skated to a 17-3-1 mark this year, en route to their ninth championship appearance.