Badgers Land No. 4 Seed In East Region

The University of Wisconsin Badgers have secured a No. 4 seed in the 2012 NCAA men’s basketball tournament and will face No. 13 seed Montana (25-6) on Thursday in Albuquerque.

READ: C3K’s College Tournament Section

The invitation is Wisconsin’s 11th-straight to the tournament.

The Montana Grizzlies are out of the Big Sky Conference and come into the tournament having won 14 straight games. The Grizzlies won both the Big Sky’s regular-season conference title and the conference tournament title.

The Montana/Wisconsin game will be played at 1:10 p.m. CST on Thursday with TNT carrying the live coverage.

In the East Region, the Badgers join Ohio State (27-7), who landed the region’s second seed after losing to Michigan State in the Big Ten conference title game on Sunday. The Buckeyes will face No. 15 Loyola (MD) on Thursday in Pittsburgh.

The Badgers and Buckeyes join four other Big Ten teams heading to the tournament.

In the Midwest Region, Michigan (24-9) secured a No. 4 seed and is scheduled to play No. 13 Ohio on Friday in Nashville.

The Indiana Hoosiers (25-8) received the South Region’s No. 4 seed and will play No. 13-seeded New Mexico State on Thursday in Portland, Ore.

After toppling Ohio State on Sunday, Michigan State (27-7) was granted the West Region’s top seed (the tournament’s fourth-overall seed) and will face the LIU Brooklyn Blackbirds on Friday in Columbus, Ohio.

Purdue (21-12), received the lowest seed of any Big Ten team. The Boilermakers were given a No. 10 seed in the Midwest Region and will play No. 7 Saint Mary’s on Friday in Omaha.

Hopefuls missing the tournament included the Northwestern Wildcats (18-13), who were looking for their first-ever tournament bid.

Out of the Big East, the Marquette Golden Eagles (25-7) secured a No. 3 seed in the West Region and will play the winner of the first round game between BYU and Iona Thursday in Louisville, Ky.

Despite losing their conference championship game, the overall number one seed in the tournament is Kentucky, who will play in the South Region.

The other top seeds in order are: Syracuse, who will play in the East Region, North Carolina, who will compete in the Midwest Region, and Michigan State.

The tournament officially begins Tuesday night with the “First Four” teams competing to join the field of 64. Tuesday’s and Wednesday’s opening round games will be seen on TruTV.

For complete broadcast information, click here.