Badger football names MVP’s

Abbrederis, Ball, Borland,Taylor honored
Badger football names MVP’s

The Wisconsin football program held its team banquet Friday and named the winners of its annual team awards.

Senior RB Montee Ball and junior WR Jared Abbrederis shared Offensive MVP honors, while linebackers Mike Taylor and Chris Borland were both named Defensive MVP. Redshirt freshman FB Derek Watt was named Rookie of the Year, while the Ivan B. Williamson Scholastic Award was presented to senior S Shelton Johnson.

The Wayne Souza Coaches’ Appreciation Award, which is presented in honor of former player Wayne Souza to an offensive player based on improvement, attitude and willingness to help the program, went to senior QB Curt Phillips and junior RB James White.

The Jay Seiler Coaches’ Appreciation Award, presented in honor of former player Jay Seiler to a defensive player who shows great improvement, attitude and willingness to help the team, was awarded to junior LB Ethan Armstrong and senior CB Devin Smith.

Senior LT Rick Wagner was presented with the Tom Wiesner Award, which is presented to a Wisconsin-born player who exhibits the qualities of loyalty, hard work, spirit and dedication. Wagner is a native of West Allis, Wis.

Sophomore OL Kyle Costigan was named winner of the Badger Power Award for the player that consistently performs at a high level in the strength and conditioning program while exhibiting a strong work ethic and dedication to the program.

Special Teams MVP honors went to junior RB Kyle Zuleger for his work on the Badgers’ kickoff and punt units.

Freshman DB Joe Schobert (defense) and redshirt freshman TE Austin Traylor (offense) were named the recipients of the Scout Team Player of the Year awards.

Also honored was longtime Director of Strength and Conditioning John Dettmann, who was presented with The Captains’ Cup. The award is presented annually to an individual other than a player or coach who shows dedication and commitment toward the success of the Badgers’ football program.