50 Wisconsin Communities Earn ‘Bird City’ Status

Eleven more Wisconsin communities have been named “Bird Cities,” bringing the total to 50.

The Milwaukee Audubon Society named the first cities as part of “Bird City Wisconsin” in 2010. It recognizes efforts to improve bird habitat, manage woodlands, limit hazards and educate citizens about birds.

The 11 new communities include the cities of Bayfield, Fond du Lac, Horicon, Oconomowoc, Oconto and Wausau; the villages of Plover, Fox Point and Whitefish Bay, and Marquette County. They also recognized the community of “Sauk Prairie,” with Sauk City and Prairie du Sac submitting a joint application.

The first 15 communities also successfully renewed their recognition for 2012.

The group hopes it becomes as popular as Tree City USA, sponsored by the Arbor Day Foundation.