USHL team returning to Madison

New franchise in 2014

MADISON, Wis. - The United States Hockey League announced today that the League's Board of Directors has approved a new Member Club that will play in Madison, Wisconsin, commencing with the 2014-15 season.

The team will be owned and operated by Madtown Hockey, LLC, a consortium of veteran and new USHL owners.

The League's sixteen-member Board of Directors hosted the new ownership group last month at the USHL's annual meeting in Kohler, Wisconsin and reviewed the plans for the new Madison team, which is set to play its home games at the Veterans Memorial Coliseum at the Alliant Energy Center subject to final lease approval by the Dane County Board of Supervisors.

The other members of the ownership group are Charles Bidwill, III, Jeffrey Krol, Brian Schoenborn, and Greg Scott.

The new Madison team marks the return of USHL hockey to the city after nearly twenty years.

The city was first part of the League from 11 seasons (1984-95), competing as the Madison Capitols (1984-91) and then as the Wisconsin Capitols (1991-95).

The Capitols won over 200 games during the time in Madison, including a team record 33 games in both the 1986-87 and 1988-89 seasons under coach Scott Owens, the now long-time head coach at Colorado College.

A total of 12 USHL players who played in Madison would go on to be selected in the NHL Draft, in addition to numerous players that would earn NCAA Division I opportunities. Former NHL defenseman Brian Rafalski spent the 1990-91 season in the USHL with the Madison Capitols before staying in town to play collegiately at the University of Wisconsin. He would then embark on an 11-year NHL career that included winning three Stanley Cups, the most by any USHL alum. Derek Plante was part of the Madison team for the 1988-89 season and would become the second-ever USHL alum to win the Stanley Cup when he did so in 1999 with the Dallas Stars.

Latest Sports Headlines

Photo Galleries

E-News Registration

This Week's Circulars