Gomez a Gold Glove finalist

Looking to be first Brewer to win in 30 years

MILWAUKEE - Milwaukee Brewers center fielder Carlos Gomez has been selected as a finalist for the Rawlings Gold Glove Award.

Gomez joins Pittsburgh's Andrew McCutchen and Washington's Denard Span as the three National League finalists.

Gomez had a career high 12 assists this season and also made five home run-saving catches.

The Brewers haven't had a Gold Glove winner in 30 years - the longest current streak in the major leagues.

Previous Brewers Gold Glove winners include George Scott (first base, 1972-76), Cecil Cooper (first base, 1979-80), Sixto Lezcano (outfield, 1979) and Robin Yount (shortstop, 1982).

Latest Sports Headlines

Photo Galleries

E-News Registration

This Week's Circulars