The NCAA has awarded the 2016 Men's Frozen Four to Tampa, Florida and the event will be co-hosted by the Tampa Bay Sports Commission and the University of Wisconsin.

Former UW associate AD Sean Frazier was the chairman of the NCAA Division 1 Ice hockey committee which selected Tampa as the host for the 2012 Frozen Four and that's how the relationship with Tampa and the UW began.

Wisconsin has been the host school for the Frozen Four in 1993, 1997 and 2006.

This isn't the first time a distant school has helped host a Frozen Four.

In the 2012 event in Tampa, the University of Alabama-Huntsville was the host school and in 1999, Alaska-Anchorage hosted-- even though the event was held in Anaheim, California.

"The last time we hosted the Frozen Four, we won it all in Milwaukee, so we look forward to having that chance once again," Wisconsin Head Coach Mike Eaves said. "One of our goals each season is to reach the Frozen Four, so it would be a unique experience for us to co-host at the Tampa Bay Times Forum and hopefully play in such a sunny locale."