University of Wisconsin-Whitewater defensive lineman John Flood is among 10 semifinalists for the 2016 Gagliardi Trophy.

Nine seniors and one junior were announced Monday for the annual award honoring the best football player in Division III.

The other semifinalists are Matt Barnes of Monmouth, John Flood of Wisconsin-Whitewater, Trevor Heitland of Coe College, A.J. LiCata of Alfred University, Baylor Mullins of University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, Sam Riddle of Linfield College, J.J. Tomlin of Washington University-St. Louis, Cory Ward of Hardin-Simmons University and Dayton Winn of Hendrix College.

LiCata, a linebacker, is the only junior on the list.

The trophy is named after former St. John's football coach John Gagliardi, who retired with 489 career victories, most in college football history.

The Gagliardi Trophy will be presented Dec. 14 in Salem, Virginia.