Borland, Abbrederis lead Badgers All-Big Ten picks

Senior linebacker named Butkus-Fitzgerald Award winner

MADISON, WI - Linebacker Chris Borland and wide receiver Jared Abbrederis were both named to the All-Big Ten football first team Monday.

Borland was also selected as the Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year after finishing fifth in tackles in the Big Ten, despite missing almost two games with a hamstring injury.

Abbrederis was fifth in the Big Ten in receiving with 87.6 yards per game. He also caught seven touchdowns this season giving him 23 for his career. Abbrederis originally was a walk-on before earning his scholarship.

Offensive lineman Ryan Groy was also named first-team all-Big Ten by the coaches.

Other Badgers honored:

Second team - RB-James White (coaches and media), RB-Melvin Gordon (coaches and media), OG-Ryan Groy (media), OT- Rob Havenstein (media).

Honorable mention: DL- Beau Allen, DB- Michael Caputo, OL-Tyler Marz, DL- Pat Muldoon, TE-Jacob Pedersen, DB- Sojourn Shelton, DB- Dezmen Southward, QB- Joel Stave.

Latest Sports Headlines

Photo Galleries

E-News Registration

This Week's Circulars