The Wisconsin Badgers are picked to win the WCHA women's hockey title in a poll of league coaches released Wednesday.

Wisconsin won the WCHA regular season and tournament titles last year. The Badgers are favored to win this year's championship ahead of Minnesota and North Dakota.

Badgers senior goaltender Ann-Renee Desbiens was selected as the pre season player of the year.

Two Badgers were in a three-way tie for the pre season rookie of the year award. Presley Norby and Abby Roque share the honor with Minnesota's Lindasy Agnew.


1. Wisconsin  (6)   48

2. Minnesota (2)   44

3. North Dakota    36

4. Minn.-Duluth   30

5. Bemidji State    27

6. St. Cloud St.     16

7. Ohio State         13

8. Minnesota St.  10


Badgers men's hockey coach Tony Granato has announced the captains for the 2016-17 season.

Sophomore forward Luke Kunin is named captain while senior forward Grant Besse and junior forward Cameron Hughes will serve as alternate captains.

Kunin is only the second sophomore to be named captain in the history of the Badger men's hockey program.  Mike Eaves was the other sophomore captain in the 1975-76 season.