Major League Baseball has changed the official scorer's call and given David Ortiz a single on a controversial play that ended pitcher Yu Darvish's perfect game.
In last Friday's Texas-Boston game, Ortiz's popup that dropped in right field was originally scored an error on Rangers right fielder Alex Rios by veteran official scorer Steve Weller.
On Wednesday, it was overturned after a review by MLB.
Boston designated hitter Ortiz came to bat with two outs in the bottom of the seventh inning. Darvish had retired 20 straight hitters. Ortiz hit a high pop into right field. Second baseman Rougned Odor, who was playing in shallow right field in a defensive shift, got under the ball as Rios started coming toward him.
Rios backed off and Odor couldn't catch the ball as it dropped just beyond his glove. Odor did not touch the ball.
After the game, Weller explained his decision.
"In my judgment, when the ball goes up in the air, I felt like the second baseman or right fielder under normal effort could have caught the ball," Weller said. "Under the rule, 10.12a1, it clearly states that a fly ball that lands -- that's allowed to hit the ground, that in the judgment of the official scorer under normal effort could be caught -- you're to award an error on the play."
Weller also asked Elias Sports Bureau for confirmation and received word that the call was correct. Ortiz and the Red Sox thought it was a hit and appealed the decision to MLB.
Darvish still carried a no-hitter through 8 2/3 innings, until Ortiz singled through the shift to end his bid.
The Rangers won the game 8-0.