Among the Hall of Fame ballot holdovers, Morris is the most likely to gain election. He wound up with 66.7 percent of the vote last year in his 13th year on the ballot. If he fails to reach the 75 percent plateau this time, next year will be his final attempt.

Morris was the winningest pitcher in the 1980s, going 162-119 for the Detroit Tigers during that decade. He wound up his 18-year career 254-186 with a 3.90 ERA, never finishing No. 1 or No. 2 on a Cy Young Award ballot.

Bagwell received 56 percent of the Hall of Fame vote last year, his second year of eligibility. He and Biggio were the faces of the Astros for years. Bagwell won the 1991 NL Rookie of the Year and the 1994 NL MVP, and he was a four-time All-Star. He batted .297 with a .408 on-base percentage, a .540 slugging percentage, 449 homers and 1,529 RBI in 15 major league seasons.