A Sun Prairie teacher was named Wisconsin's Middle School Teacher of the Year on Friday at a surprise ceremony at Patrick Marsh Middle School.

State Superintendent Tony Evers presented band director and instrumental music teacher Chris Gleason with the award during an assembly at the school. Gleason will also get a $3,000 award from the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation.

Other recipients include Sarah Breckley, a high school Spanish teacher at Reedsburg Area High School in Reedsburg; Pamela Gresser, a fifth-grade teacher at Rothschild Elementary School in Rothschild and Barbara VanDoorn, a school counselor at Lake Holcombe School in Holcombe.