MADISON, Wis. - The Senate has approved a bill that would allow drivers to show proof of insurance electronically.
Drivers in Wisconsin are required to carry liability insurance and have proof of that insurance if they're pulled over. Motorists could be fined if they don't have that proof.
The bipartisan bill passed by the Senate Wednesday and headed to the Assembly would allow drivers to show proof of coverage by using their smartphones or other electronic device.
The Journal Sentinel reported drivers in Wisconsin are required to carry minimum liability coverage of $25,000 for the injury or death of a person; $50,000 for the injury or death of more than one person; and $10,000 for property damage.
- Monona cafe calls for action after no charges in embezzlement case
- Consumer Reports: Should you buy Ikea appliances?
- Consumer Reports: Foods that heal
- WEDC grants help grow entrepreneurship programs across state
- Political expert weighs in on effectiveness of Women's March movement
- Uncertainty creates challenges for growth in manufacturing