New Year's Eve is one of the biggest drinking holidays of the year, but a new law on the books is aimed at protecting bars from underage drinkers.
Gov. Scott Walker signed the Brown Jug Law Dec. 12, putting it into effect immediately. It allows bar owners to sue underage drinkers for $250 to $1,000 for drinking in their bars.
Some owners think it makes those under 21 think twice about using fake IDs, but some groups around the state think the owners are really to blame.
"Somebody is going to use it, and I think it might deter kids in that under 21 age range," Vintage Bar manager Rory Nienajaldo said.
"I don't know that we should be putting the responsibility of a proper alcohol environment on our 17-year-olds," said Maureen Busalacchi, with Health First Wisconsin.
Busalacchi said laws like the one in Wisconsin that allows underage kids to drink with their parents at restaurants are the real problem.
- Attorney: Jakubowksi traveled mostly on foot, was headed to South Dakota
- Lettuce, other produce prices double due to wet California winter, experts say
- State Legislature set to give wells bill final OK
- Look, up in the sky! It's gypsy moth sprayers
- AG Schimel: Undercover campaign videos reveal no crime
- Oakcrest Tavern robbed at gunpoint at closing time, PD says