Local News

2 area teachers receive Presidential Award of Excellence

State superintendent nominated teachers in July 2012

MADISON, Wis. - Two area teachers were named 2012 recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, according to a Department of Instruction release.

Cathy Fernan of Milton and Kathy Hiteman of Middleton are among 102 kindergarten through sixth-grade teachers nationwide who were notified of the award in mid-December, according to the release. Both teachers will receive $10,000 from the National Science Foundation and will be invited to Washington, D.C., to attend an awards ceremony.

"The dedication of these teachers is worth celebrating," State Superintendent Tony Evers said in the release. "Both started their careers as elementary school teachers and now work with sixth-graders in the middle school environment where they inspire young minds in mathematics and science."

Evers nominated Fernan and Hiteman for the award in July 2012.

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching have been given since 1983 and are considered the nation's highest honor for teachers of mathematics and science, according to the release.

Local And Regional News

Photo Galleries

E-News Registration

This Week's Circulars