Gov. Scott Walker has declared a state of emergency for 13 western Wisconsin counties that have been drenched by torrential rains since Wednesday.

Walker says he's instructing the Wisconsin National Guard and all state agencies to provide assistance to those affected by the disaster, which has caused widespread flooding and mudslides in the region, including one death.

His declaration will help local governments pay for the costs of damage and cleanup to public infrastructure.

The covered counties are: Buffalo, Chippewa, Clark, Columbia, Crawford, Eau Claire, Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland, Sauk, Trempealeau and Vernon.