2 Wis. counties eligible for disaster assistance

Counties near Minnesota likely to receive help for droughts

Published On: Jan 10 2014 08:13:45 PM CST   Updated On: Jan 10 2014 08:27:49 PM CST
USDA Department of Agriculture

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has declared two Wisconsin counties eligible for disaster assistance because of drought.

Burnett and Douglas counties are next to counties in Minnesota that were declared primary natural disaster counties.

The declaration is due to losses caused by drought and lack of moisture that took place between Sept. 1 and Nov. 15, 2013.

Farmers who suffered losses in the two Wisconsin counties are eligible for assistance from the Farm Service Agency. The assistance includes emergency loans.

Farmers in those counties have eight months to apply for the loans.